Dear Paleo, Why don’t you include chocolate?

When I walked into the house today, something punched me right in the nose. The overwhelming aroma of gingerbread. Although I didn’t find it right away (turns out my sister puts our large candles in those warmers that turn them to hot wax… plugged in all day… with a zoo of unruly four-legged beasts wandering the house all alone…), I enjoyed it. I bought that candle because I love the way it smells. I love the way gingerbread tastes – not tart, really, but sort of spicy and sweet, like a tamer version of that tea whose name I can’t remember. I love it. And yet, I hate it now because it sure isn’t making paleo period week any easier.

Allow me to explain. I started the Paleo Challenge because I am a regular member at my friend’s crossfit gym and they do it every year. I in no way, shape or form need to lose weight, but I could use a little help in the lean muscle/energy/tummy/clear-skin-before-30-please-God categories. And I made my dude sign up, too. He’s lost four pounds in less than a week. Not too shabby, caveman diet.

So Paleo, to those like myself who had no clue what it meant (or how to pronounce it, for that matter), is basically cutting back to the basic necessities of the body. Meat, fish, veggies, fruit (not too much), nuts (not too much) and oils (pretty much just olive and coconut). The list of “cans” is much simpler than the list of “can’ts.” I was very sad to learn that.

On the bright side, the cravings for sweets and cheese and pasta have subsided. For me, and for the most part, although anti-baby, angsty period monster is a rather large chocolate enthusiast. You won’t win this time, bitch. And I’ve been cooking. Quite a bit, actually. I’ve made a sweet potato ground beef casserole crock pot thing, stuffed peppers, pumpkin pancakes, bread (ew, needs something wet, like the real milk, whiskey and chocolate I’ve been missing). *Down monster!*

>>side notes about: The pancakes, I didn’t have pumpkin spice, so I added 1/4 c canned pumpkin – so necessary for moisture! Also, no honey on my challenge, so we dipped them in unsweetened peach applesauce – which they didn’t even really need! And also, 3 eggs = 3/4 c egg whites. Why waste the good stuff? The casserole, ours was not a beautiful, neatly layered lasagna so much as a mush, but pretty yummy, nonetheless.

I will add photos of what a lamen’s attempt at Paleo looks like when I can figure out how to get them from Dropbox onto here…

Happy eating 🙂

About aekuopus

Let's try to nutshell this... I am a daughter (duh), a sister, an aunt (fun) and a friend. I enjoy spending time with all the people who make the aforementioned relationships possible, among other things. I pretend to know how to cook, drive and spell, and I seem to get along just fine. I have five cats, two dogs, two birds and a hamster, ranging in ages from 18-about a year (I am not a collector, perse, so much as an animal aficionado). I'm not a big fan of loss, or losing, but I am a big fan of the Packers, the Brewers, and basically anything that represents Wisconsin. I love cheese.
This entry was posted in About Me, Active Life, Food, Milwaukee and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

