Hi, I’m Allie. I’m here to help

I started volunteering. Finally. For a hospice center and an inner city after school program. Pretty different, but equally rewarding, I think.

My responsibilities for the hospice center are pretty clerical. Arrange flowers, greet people at the door, try not to break down and cry at the sight of people grappling with the harsh reality that their loved ones are probably moments from being lost from this world forever… that last one’s unspoken, by the way. I will not be one of the brave souls who actually sits with the dying, holding their hands, comforting them and their grieving loved ones. Not yet, anyway. That takes tear ducts of steel, which I do not have.

And then there are the kids. There’s no real chance of crying there. Not on my end, anyway. Unfortunately I can’t guarantee I won’t drive my little girl to pull her hair out.

“Are you sure you don’t want to read? Really? It’s really fun! Let’s just try it again. Come on. COME ON, IT’S FUN!”

But seriously, she’s a treat. Very smart. Wants to be a doctor. Seems to me like she’s already on the right track, but I’ll do what I can to keep her there.

I don’t work all that often, a few nights a week, so I have a lot of extra time. Most of my time is spent evading things I should actually be doing, like finding and securing a career (which is oh, so, simple these days), cleaning and decorating my house (because, let’s face it, my niece and nephew aren’t exactly Home and Garden experts). Instead I have turned surfing the web my into my full-time job. I swear, if I could get paid to look at pictures and videos of baby animals, I’d have it made. I can see the Craigslist ad now:

Experienced Lilliputian Hunter. Will not rest until I have satiated every sloth-swaddling, kitten-cuddling, puppy-wrangling desire you can’t fill on your own. Knows how to infiltrate the secret lairs of such creatures, whether dainty and sweet or sleepy and charming, I will find the diminutive delights with ease for your time-wasting satisfaction.

*sigh* If only life were filled with such simple pleasures. (I could also be a host on “America’s Next Top Model.” I know what those people want. Smize, bitches, smize!)

Needless to say, giving my time to others is the least I can do. I have always wondered what organizations appreciate more: time or money? Obviously they need donations to function, but without people behind the scenes, making things happen, nothing would. Is it a perfect balance? 70/30? 45/55? And what drives people to choose to give one or the other? Or either in the first place? Maybe I’ll find out… For now, I’m sticking with the former (while trying to pick up shifts and put my own life in order) to eventually provide the ladder. Whatever they need, I’m here to help.

About aekuopus

Let's try to nutshell this... I am a daughter (duh), a sister, an aunt (fun) and a friend. I enjoy spending time with all the people who make the aforementioned relationships possible, among other things. I pretend to know how to cook, drive and spell, and I seem to get along just fine. I have five cats, two dogs, two birds and a hamster, ranging in ages from 18-about a year (I am not a collector, perse, so much as an animal aficionado). I'm not a big fan of loss, or losing, but I am a big fan of the Packers, the Brewers, and basically anything that represents Wisconsin. I love cheese.
This entry was posted in About Me, Milwaukee, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

