Should be needing a nap any time now…

I had waffles for breakfast this morning. Not fancy restaurant, made in a press with handmade mix waffles, I’m talking Leggo My Eggo, straight out the freezer waffles. And they were amazing. I haven’t enjoyed one of these delicious dessert-turned-breakfast treats in I don’t know how long. Which isn’t to say I haven’t had the opportunity. We keep the freezer stocked with the tasty morsels thanks to the niece and nephew (who would eat them for every meal if we let them).

I prepared them the old-fashioned way, too. Loaded with butter (to make them soft) and perfectly proportioned syrup (Mrs. Butterworth’s, of course. I’m a traditionalist, what can I say?). I devoured them with the same exuberance I once had, forgot all my woes (although, try as I might, I was well aware that I was now in greater need of a Jillian Michaels’ ass whooping later this afternoon), avoided the sticky drips to no avail and enjoyed the one thing I never understood parents felt okay feeding their children at 8 o’clock in the morning. Sugar crash, anyone?

News flash: waffles and pancakes are sweets. So next time your kid wants leftover birthday cake, give it to him, you hypocrite. The only going to suffer from the decision to have sugar for breakfast is him. And me. *yawn* The high has waned. Good thing I’ve got some time before work…

About aekuopus

Let's try to nutshell this... I am a daughter (duh), a sister, an aunt (fun) and a friend. I enjoy spending time with all the people who make the aforementioned relationships possible, among other things. I pretend to know how to cook, drive and spell, and I seem to get along just fine. I have five cats, two dogs, two birds and a hamster, ranging in ages from 18-about a year (I am not a collector, perse, so much as an animal aficionado). I'm not a big fan of loss, or losing, but I am a big fan of the Packers, the Brewers, and basically anything that represents Wisconsin. I love cheese.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

