Today I don’t feel like doing anything…

I didn’t do anything yesterday. Like, nothing. Like, I woke up (early, before 9 am, you know, so I would have plenty of time to do whatever), sat down, and stayed down. All. Day. Long.

Not that I necessarily had anything specific on my agenda (other than work out – which I will do today, book a flight – although I can’t seem to get a hold of anyone involved in this expedition, do the dishes – I did half, scoop the cat box – seriously gotta do it today…). I watched three-and-a-half episodes of How I Met Your Mother (love), looked on job websites for a nanosecond (damnit, I should have updated my resume – not that there’s anything to add, seeing as this is how I seem to spend most of my days off lately), played with dates and times for the aforementioned flight (I’m driving out there, just not sure how I’ll be getting back) and took a nap (seriously).

On another hand, the one that makes me feel only slightly less lazy (the right one, I guess, since that’s the dominant), the running is going well. I’ve run one 10 and one 11 miler, my knee (after bringing me to the brink of collapse on more than one occasion) is feeling better – thanks to a visit to one of In Step‘s qualified physical therapists. Although the mere thought of running 13.1 miles stills makes my spine tingle, I know I can do it.

I’ve also started volunteering. Well, I will officially start next week. I’ve gone through the orientation, observation and “training” (didn’t get too much out of that last step, but protocol is protocol). I wanted to do something. Something else. Something for other people. Not to mention something to get me off the couch. It seems like it’s going to be pretty cool, helping other adults learn to read, hone in on skills necessary to pass GED tests, and gain confidence that they’ll carry with them in their everyday lives. I think maybe they’ll end up doing the same for me. It’ll sure beat the hell out of the couch.

About aekuopus

Let's try to nutshell this... I am a daughter (duh), a sister, an aunt (fun) and a friend. I enjoy spending time with all the people who make the aforementioned relationships possible, among other things. I pretend to know how to cook, drive and spell, and I seem to get along just fine. I have five cats, two dogs, two birds and a hamster, ranging in ages from 18-about a year (I am not a collector, perse, so much as an animal aficionado). I'm not a big fan of loss, or losing, but I am a big fan of the Packers, the Brewers, and basically anything that represents Wisconsin. I love cheese.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

