Rock with it. Roll with it. Run with it?

I’ve decided to take on a half marathon. The restaurant I manage is full of good-looking, primarily healthy/fit-ish girls so motivation to look and feel good is high. I’ve always enjoyed being active – danced when I was younger, play with my niece and nephew when I can, pretend Wii Sports is enough cardio once a month to sufficiently kick my butt into any shape other than my 10-year-old boy figure (my nephew’s nine… and I fit into some of his clothes).

I’ve had a gym membership for about a year-and-a-half, trying my damnedest to get out of the house and onto the treadmill/elliptical/bike at least three times a week. The more effort I put into my body, the more double takes I get on the street (ha ha, okay not really, but I have noticed results over time). Unfortunately I’ve never been what one would call a “runner.” I, like so many others, get bored, short of breath, sore, tired, apathetic and annoyed trudging along like a Greyhound on a track.

But I’ve been running for a while, thanks mostly to the chickees from work. While I stick primarily to the treadmill, I do take advantage of my two-mile proximity to Lake Michigan (they don’t call it Great for nothin’, you know) from time to time. Not lately though, thanks to the endless flutters of snow and sheets of ice covering every surface inch of the city – oh, how I love the Midwest.

The farthest I’ve gone thus far is about five miles, both on the treadmill and on the streets, at either 10- or 11-minute miles. I’ve got a long way to go (pun?), but I’m feeling pretty good so far. Maybe I’ll actually try playing something else on the Wii for a change… Super Mario Brothers anyone?

About aekuopus

Let's try to nutshell this... I am a daughter (duh), a sister, an aunt (fun) and a friend. I enjoy spending time with all the people who make the aforementioned relationships possible, among other things. I pretend to know how to cook, drive and spell, and I seem to get along just fine. I have five cats, two dogs, two birds and a hamster, ranging in ages from 18-about a year (I am not a collector, perse, so much as an animal aficionado). I'm not a big fan of loss, or losing, but I am a big fan of the Packers, the Brewers, and basically anything that represents Wisconsin. I love cheese.
This entry was posted in Active Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

